Oxoacids of Sulphur


Table of Content

Introduction to Oxoacids of Sulphur

Sulphur shapes a huge number of oxoacids. Quite a lot of these don't exist as free acids, however, are known as anions and salts. Oxoacids of sulphur, contingent upon their basic similitudes, are partitioned into four series.

They are:

  • Sulphurous Acid Series

  • Sulphuric Acid Series

  • Thionic Acid Series

  • Peroxo Acid Series

Oxoacids with S-S linkages are called Thioacids, while those with Peroxy linkages (O-O) are called Peroxo Acids.

Sulphurous Acid Series

Sulphurous acid, dithionous acid, anddi or pyrosulphurous acid are sorted under the sulphurous acid series.

Sulphurous acid series

Fig. 1: Sulphurous acid series

Sulphuric Acid Series

Sulphuric acid, thiosulphuric acid and di or pyrosulphuric acid are categorised under the sulphuric acid series.

Sulphuric acid series

Fig. 2: Sulphuric acid series

Thionic Acid Series

It comprises of dithionic acid and polythionic acid.

Thionic acid series

Fig. 3: Thionic acid series

Peroxo Acid Series

It consists of peroxomonosulphuric acid (also known as Persulfuric Acid) and Peroxodisulphuric acid.

Peroxo acid series

Fig. 4: Peroxo acid series

Among all of these oxoacids, sulphuric acid (H2SO4) is the most imperative acid that is used in the chemical industry.

Watch this Video for more reference

More Readings

Oxoaids of Sulphur


Upto 50% Scholarship on Live Classes

Course Features

  • Video Lectures
  • Revision Notes
  • Previous Year Papers
  • Mind Map
  • Study Planner
  • NCERT Solutions
  • Discussion Forum
  • Test paper with Video Solution