Thank you for registering.

One of our academic counsellors will contact you within 1 working day.

Please check your email for login details.

Use Coupon: CART20 and get 20% off on all online Study Material

Total Price: Rs.

There are no items in this cart.
Continue Shopping

Two highest gods in the Vedic religion were ________. a. Agni and Savitri b. Vishnu and Mitra c. Indra and Varuna d. Surya and Pushan

Two highest gods in the Vedic religion were ________.
a. Agni and Savitri
b. Vishnu and Mitra
c. Indra and Varuna
d. Surya and Pushan

Grade:12th pass

1 Answers

Pawan Prajapati
askIITians Faculty 27381 Points
2 months ago
Hint: Let's discuss about Vedic religion, so the Vedic religion is said to be developed in1500−1100 BCE , however has roots within the Eurasian field Sintashta culture (2200−1800 BCE ) and therefore the subsequent Central Asian Andronovo culture (2000−900 BCE ), and presumably additionally the Indus depression Civilisation (2600−1900 BCE ). It absolutely was a composite of the faith of the Central Asian Indo-Aryans, itself "a syncretic mixture of recent Central Asian and new Indo-European elements'', that borrowed "distinctive spiritual beliefs and practices'' from the Bactria–Margiana culture; and therefore the remnants of the Harappan culture of the Indus depression. Complete Answer: During the late Vedic time 1100−500 BCE Brahmanism developed out of the Vedic faith, as an associate degree ideology of the Kuru-Panchala realm that expanded into a wider space once the dying of the Kuru-Panchala realm. Brahmanism was one of the most important influences that formed up to date Hinduism, once it absolutely was synthesized with the non-Vedic Indo-Aryan spiritual heritage of the eastern Gangas (which additionally gave rise to Buddhism and Jainism), and with native spiritual traditions. Specific rituals and sacrifices of the Vedic faith embody, among others: the Soma rituals; fireplace rituals involving oblations (havir); and therefore the Ashvamedha (horse sacrifice) the rites of grave burials likewise as incineration square measure seen since the Rigvedic amount. Some major deities of the Vedic tradition embody Indra, Surya, Agni, Ushas, Vayu, Varuna, Mitra, Aditi, Yama, Soma, Sarasvati, Prithvi, and Rudra. So, the correct answer is Option C. Note: Vedism refers to the oldest kind of the Vedic faith, once Indo-Aryans entered into the depression of the Indus in multiple waves throughout the 2nd millennium BCE. Brahmanism refers to any developed type that took form at the river basin around c. 1000 BCE. In step with Heesterman, "It is loosely referred to as Brahmanism as a result of the spiritual and legal importance it places on the brāhmaṇa (priestly) category of society."

Think You Can Provide A Better Answer ?

Provide a better Answer & Earn Cool Goodies See our forum point policy


Get your questions answered by the expert for free