Jadhavpur University


Table of Content


Jadhavpur University LogoThe year 1906, saw a group of Bengali intellectuals coming together with a resolution to protest against the Bengal partition by setting up an institution with the aim of offering education to the masses on national lines and under national control. Thus was established the National Council of Education (NCE) in the year 1906 with the aim to impart literary, scientific and technical education on a national basis. Simultaneously during that time, another group went on and formed the ‘Society for Promotion of Technical Education in Bengal’, under the leadership of Taraknath Palit, under whose guidance was established the Bengal Technical Institute on the 25th of July 1906. The year 1910 saw the two rival organisations merged together under NCE with the Bengal Technical Institute passing unto its hands. 1921 saw the Institute introducing Chemical Engineering as a discipline in its curriculum making it the first college in India to do so. By 1940, the institute’s functions were just like that of an independent university, but soon after  the Indian Independence in 1947, under the Jadavpur University Act, 1955; the institute was granted a university status with full autonomy from December 24, 1955. The University Grants Commission (UGC) has recognised the Jadavpur University declaring it as a Centre of Excellence in Mobile Computing and Communication. The National Assessment and Accreditation Committee have also awarded the institute a Five Star University. The Jadavpur University also boast of being the only university in the Indian sub-continent to have a ‘Department of Film Studies.’


Jadavpur University is situated in Kolkata, a large and teeming Indian metropolis, with an effervescent cultural tradition. The Jadavpur University stands on Raja S. C. Mallik Road in the southern parts of the city, well connected through all means of surface transport. The main campus stands on a sprawling 58 acres on Raja S.C. Mallik Road (8 km by local rail from the Sealdah Railway Station; 15 km. by road from Howrah Station and 3 km by road from Metro Railway (urban speed transport system) Station at Tollygunge and 25 km from Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose International Airport): The address of the university being 188 Raja S.C. Mallik Road, Kolkata 700 032.
The University also has a second campus of 26 acres at Salt Lake: The address being Salt Lake City, Block-LB, Plot No. 8, Sector –III, Kolkata 700091. At present the classes in full time degree courses in Construction Engineering. Instrumentation Engineering, Printing Engineering, Information Technology, Power Engineering and Information Technology are conducted on this campus. Also the Eastern Regional Offices of the UGC and the Inter-University Consortium for Atomic Energy are located on this campus.

Campus of Jadhavpur University


Undergraduate Courses:

Undergraduate Courses on offer at the Jadavpur University, under the Faculty of Engineering and Technology:

Faculty of Engineering and Technology

  • Chemical Engineering

  • Civil Engineering

  • Computer Science and Engineering

  • Construction Engineering

  • Electrical Engineering

  • Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering

  • Information Technology

  • Instrumentation Engineering

  • Mechanical Engineering

  • Metallurgical Engineering

  • Power Plant Engineering

  • Production Engineering

  • Printing Engineering

  • Pharmacy

  • Architecture

  • Food Technology and Biochemical Engineering

  • Instrumentation and Electronics Engineering

  • Civil Engineering (Evening Course)

  • Electrical Engineering (Evening Course)

  • Mechanical Engineering (Evening Course)


Though not a residential University, accommodation are provided to needy students from areas outside greater Calcutta or from other parts of the Country.
There are 13 hostels with provision for accommodating over 1300 students among which 4 are for girls and 9 are for boys. Though accommodation in both Women’s hostel and Boys’ hostel falls much short of the demand, efforts are being made for extension of the existing buildings and construction of new buildings. The Main Hostel complex is situated outside the campus.
Hostel Mess is supervised by the Students Mess Committee under the guidance of the Superintendent of the respective hostel. At the Main Hostel complex, the P.G. Hostels as well as at the Ladies’ Hostels has their own private canteens supervised by the Students’ Committee. There is also an exclusive hostel for Research Scholars.


The alumni of the university have a long list of successful professionals in their own respective field, with a list of impressive award winners along the years:

  • Badal Sircar (Comparative Literature) - Padma Shri winner in 1972, Sangeet Natak Akademi Award winner in 1968, Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship, Ratna Sadsya winner in 1997.

  • Satyabrata Rai Chowdhuri - (International Relations) eminent political scientist and author, fellow of the University of London.

  • Swadesh Chatterjee (Instrumentation Engineering) - President, IAFPE & Padma Bhushan awardee.

  • Kabir Suman, formerly Suman Chattopadhyay (English) - Path-breaking Bengali anti-establishment singer, song writer and composer


Upto 50% Scholarship on Live Classes

Course Features

  • Video Lectures
  • Revision Notes
  • Previous Year Papers
  • Mind Map
  • Study Planner
  • NCERT Solutions
  • Discussion Forum
  • Test paper with Video Solution