College of Engineering, Guindy


Table of Content


College of Engineering Guindy LogoThe College of Engineering, Guindy, Chennai, is one of the four colleges that come under the Anna University. It was started in May 1794 as a School of Survey with only 8 boys as students. It went on to be established as a college under the Madras University in 1859. It is the oldest technical institute in India ranking it amongst the world’s oldest technical institute. In 1894 the institute introduced B.E. Degree Courses in Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering in 1930, Telecommunication and Highway Engineering in 1945 and Printing Technology in 1983. The institute was the first in South India to open a Computer Centre in the year 1963.The school has over the years managed to become India’s largest technological University with over 4 lakh students under its wings. 

​Campus and Hostels

The campus is spread over an area of 150 acres having many heritage and modern buildings with the latest of facilities. The campus is also full of green environment setting which gives the feeling of healthy, young, energetic and dynamic to pursue academic, research, co-curricular and extra-curricular activities in the campus.
The campus facilities are utilized by a population of about 2200 (1800 hostel residents and 400 family members of employees) and by a floating population of more than 10,000 (Day-scholars, Part-time students, Employees and other visitors), daily.


Departments and Centers


1. Faculty of Civil Engineering:

  •  Department of Civil Engineering

  •  Structural Engineering Division

  •  Centre for Environment Studies

  •  Centre for Water Resources 

  •  Division of Urban Systems Development

  •  Institute of Ocean Management

  •  Institute of Remote Sensing

  •  Division of Soil mechanics and Foundation Management

  •  Centre for disaster mitigation management

  •  Building Technology Centre

 2. Faculty of Mechanical Engineering:

  •  Department of Mechanical Engineering

  •  Department of Printing Technology 

  •  Department of Manufacturing Engineering

  •  Institute of Energy Studies 

  •  Department of Mining Engineering

  •  Manufacturing Systems Management

  •  Department of Industrial Engineering 

3. Faculty of Electrical and Electronics Engineering 

  •  Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering

  •  Power System Engineering

  •  High Voltage Engineering 

4. Faculty of Information and Communication Engineering

  •  Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering

  •  Department of Computer Science and Engineering

  •  Centre for Medical Electronics

  •  Ramanujan Computing Centre 

5. Faculty of Management Sciences 

  •  Department of Management Studies

6. Faculty of Science and Humanities

  •  Department of Mathematics

  •  Department of Physics

  •  Department of Chemistry

  •  Department of Geology

  •  Department of Media Sciences


  •  Education Multimedia Research Centre 

  •  Audio Visual Research Centre 

  •  AU-TVS Center for Quality Management 

  •  AU-FRG Institute for CAD/CAM 

  •  Centre for University Industry Collaboration 

  •  Training Center for Career Advancement 

  •  Centre for Engineering Partnership 

  •  Centre for Women Empowerment 

  •  Centre for Entrepreneurship Development 

  •  Centre for Faculty Development 

  •  Centre for Professional Development Education 

  •  Curriculum Development Centre 

  •  Health Centre 

  •  Logistic Centre 

  •  Student Affairs 

  •  Ramanujan Computing Centre

  •  Sports 

  •  Anna University Patriotic and People Oriented Science and Technology Centre

​Cultural Activities

Kurukshetra - the Battle of Brains, was started from 2007 by the students of CEG to conduct a National level technical festival which is multi-disciplinary in dimension. Also every year in February, CEG plays host to Techofes, an eagerly anticipated and keenly contested five-day inter-college cultural festival. During the months of January to March, various departments of the college conduct individual technical symposia. Notable among those are: Pinnacle, organized by the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Surang, , organized by the Department of Mining Engineering, Manusys, organized by the Department of Manufacturing Engineering, Indcon, organized by the Department of Industrial Engineering, aBaCUS, conducted by the Department of Computer Science, Vision, conducted by the Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering, Waves, of the School of Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Civilization, by the Civil Engineering Department, GEOHORIZON'08, organized by the Society of Geo informatics Engineers, Imprint conducted by Department of Printing Technology, and Colloquium conducted by the department of Mathematics.


Along the years there has been an impressive line of alumnus, notable among them were:

  • Professor Rammohan Rao (Presently Dean of ISB)

  • Krishnamachari Srikanth (Former cricketer)

  • Srinivasan Venkataraghavan (Former cricketer and International Umpire)

  • T.S.Kuppuswamy (Chief General Manager BSNL)

  • K.Sridhara (Member Technology & Ex Officio Secretary, Dept Of Telecommunications)

  • Air Marshal R Ramamurthy Air Officer Commanding in Chief Maintenance command Indian Air Force

  • Sanjay Parthasarathy (VP, Developer & Platform Evangelism Group, Microsoft)

  • S Somasegar (VP, Developer division, Microsoft)


Upto 50% Scholarship on Live Classes

Course Features

  • Video Lectures
  • Revision Notes
  • Previous Year Papers
  • Mind Map
  • Study Planner
  • NCERT Solutions
  • Discussion Forum
  • Test paper with Video Solution