CBSE Syllabus for Class 11 Maths 2021 - 2022 Exam


CBSE Class 11 Maths syllabus includes 6 units in which you will learn sets, functions, algebra, coordinate geometry, calculus, mathematical reasoning, statistics and probability concepts. Every student must refer to the Class 11 Maths syllabus while preparing for board exams as it helps you keep track of all your topics. You can use the syllabus to check your learning progress and identify how many topics you have completed. The CBSE syllabus for Class 11 Maths will also help you become familiar with the CBSE exam pattern and marking scheme. For every unit in the CBSE Class 11 Maths syllabus, you are provided with a weightage of marks. 


AskIITians can help you understand the whole CBSE Maths syllabus for Class 11 by providing you with the latest CBSE syllabus and exam guidelines. Our team works 24X7 for the students so that students can achieve better marks in CBSE exams. On this website, you can find the latest study notes, previous year papers, chapter tests, video lectures and live classes for Class 11 Maths. Our high-quality study material is designed to help reduce your fear of mathematics and make it an interesting subject for you. 


CBSE Class 11 Maths exam is of 100 marks out of which 80 marks are allotted to theory examination while 20 marks are for internal assessments. You must study every chapter as per the CBSE syllabus from the NCERT textbook first and this is recommended by the CBSE. NCERT books contain easy to understand language with different examples and exercises for every topic. You can use the CBSE syllabus to keep track of the topics given in the NCERT book and practice only those that are covered in the syllabus for the academic year 2021-2022. 


According to the Class 11 Maths CBSE syllabus, you will study the concepts of the representation of sets as finite, empty, and equal. You will also learn what are subsets, power sets, ordered pairs, domain and range of a function and definition of trigonometric functions. You will also learn the principle of mathematical induction, complex numbers, Argand plane and polar representation of complex numbers. Binomial theorem, geometric progression and arithmetic progression are some of the most important concepts for higher studies and competitive exams that you will study in the Class 11 Maths syllabus. 


Chapter-wise CBSE Class 11 Maths Syllabus


CBSE Class 11 Maths Syllabus 

CBSE Class 11 Maths Topics 


Unit 1: Sets and Functions

Venn diagrams, finite sets, empty sets, the difference of sets, Complement of a set, cartesian product of a set, relations, domain and range of functions, greatest integer functions, signs and cosines of trigonometric functions, positive and negative angles 


Unit 2: Algebra

The principle of mathematical induction and its applications, complex numbers, Statement of Fundamental Theorem of Algebra, solutions of quadratic equations, linear inequalities, graphical solution of linear inequalities, permutations and combinations, sequences and series, Pascal’s triangle


Unit 3: Coordinate Geometry 

The slope of a line, equations of a line, the distance of a point from a line, ellipse, hyperbola, parabola, standard equation of a circle, coordinates of a point, section formula


Unit 4: Calculus 

Derivatives, derivatives of a trigonometric function, limits of polynomials, exponential functions, logarithmic functions, the derivative of the sum, difference, product and quotient of functions


Unit 5: Mathematical Reasoning 

Statements, validating statements, contradiction, converse and contrapositive 


Unit 6: Statistics and Probability 

Mean, variance, the standard deviation of data, frequency distribution, events and outcomes, sample space, mutually exclusive events, probability of an event, exhaustive events 



80 Marks 


CBSE Class 11 Maths Syllabus FAQs


#1 How many chapters are included in the CBSE Class 11 Maths syllabus?

CBSE Class 11 Maths includes 16 chapters namely Sets, Relations and Functions, Trigonometric Functions, Principle of Mathematical Induction, Complex Numbers and Quadratic Equations, Linear Inequalities, Permutations and Combinations, Binomial Theorem, Sequences and Series, Straight Lines, Conic Sections, Introduction to Three Dimensional Geometry, Limits and Derivatives, Mathematical Reasoning, Statistics and Probability. 


#2 What is the weightage of each chapter of the CBSE Class 11 Maths syllabus? 

There is no chapter-wise weightage allotted in the syllabus for Class 11 Maths. However, marks are distributed amongst various units so that students pay attention to all the chapters. These chapters are quite important for Class 12 Maths. 


#3 How to prepare for CBSE Class 11 Maths? 

If you want to complete the Class 11 Maths syllabus on time, just follow these tips. 

  • Refer to NCERT solutions in case you get stuck in a question
  • Keep notes of all important formulae and theorems in Maths 
  • Use mindmaps and flashcards to remember definitions and concepts 
  • Solve sample papers and previous year papers to reduce your exam fear 
  • Take live classes at askIITians to understand every concept in-depth 

#4 What is the syllabus for Class 11 Maths internal assessment? 

Internal assessment comprises 20 marks in the final exam. So students must prepare hard to achieve these 20 marks. Firstly, your best two out of three periodic tests will be considered and secondly, your mathematics activities will be considered for assessment. You can take note of all the guidelines by downloading the CBSE Class 11 Maths syllabus from askIITians. 



Upto 50% Scholarship on Live Classes

Course Features

  • Video Lectures
  • Revision Notes
  • Previous Year Papers
  • Mind Map
  • Study Planner
  • NCERT Solutions
  • Discussion Forum
  • Test paper with Video Solution