CBSE Syllabus for Class 10 Physics 2021 - 2022 Exam


CBSE Class 10 Physics syllabus includes two units namely, Unit 3: Natural Phenomenon and Unit 4: How Things Work. You will study two major physics concepts in Class 10 Science which are light and its properties and electric current and its effects. You must refer to the Class 10 syllabus for Physics every time you study to keep track of the topics. Since CBSE has been making changes in the syllabus due to the pandemic, some of the topics included earlier in the syllabus might be deleted in the academic year 2021-22. So, referring to the syllabus is a must for every student.  


The CBSE Class 10 Physics syllabus 2021-22 includes topics like laws of refraction of light, functioning of the human eye, dispersion of light and applications of dispersion of light in daily life. It also includes Ohm’s law, resistance, series and parallel combination of resistors, Fleming’s left-hand rule, magnetic field, working of an electric motor and other related topics. The syllabus mentions the marks associated with both the Physics units and the time that one should devote to learning these units. Based on this, you can create a learning schedule that will help you complete the CBSE Science syllabus for board exams. 


Students can’t keep a check on the CBSE website for all the latest updates on the Class 10 Physics Syllabus. Therefore, askIITians provides you with an easy way to access the latest CBSE syllabus online. Our experts keep a check on the latest updates on the CBSE Class 10 syllabus and update it on our website. Whenever you study, you can check the syllabus any time from our website. Along with this, we have provided extensive study resources for Class 10 Physics that will help you understand all the syllabus topics easily such as revision notes, practice tests, mindmaps, flashcards and more. 


Chapter-wise CBSE Class 10 Physics Syllabus 2021-22


CBSE Class 10 Physics Syllabus 2021-22

CBSE Class 10 Physics Topics 


Unit 3: Natural Phenomenon 

Reflection of light, refraction of light, mirror formula, image formation by spherical lenses, magnification, power of a lens, human eye and its working, defects in the human eye, refraction of light through a prism, scattering of light 


Unit 4: Effects of Current 

Resistivity, electric current, potential difference, series and parallel combination, heating effects of electric current, force on a current-carrying conductor, electric power, direct current, alternating current, electric motor, electric generator, electric circuits  



55 Marks 


CBSE Class 10 Physics Syllabus FAQs


#1 Why must students check the CBSE Syllabus for Class 10 Physics? 

Class 10 Physics syllabus helps you understand the exam pattern for board exams. If you want to achieve full marks in Class 10 Physics, you must study every topic mentioned in the CBSE syllabus for Class 10 Science. The syllabus helps you keep track of the topics that are included in the latest curriculum. The syllabus also includes the list of practicals and marking schemes for the Class 10 Science board exam. In all, reading the syllabus carefully will make it easier for you to prepare for the board exam in Class 10. 


#2 How many chapters are included in NCERT Class 10 Physics syllabus?

Class 10 Physics syllabus includes four chapters namely, Light – Reflection and Refraction, The Human Eye and the Colourful World, Electricity and Magnetic Effects of Electric Current. 


#3 How to study for the Class 10 Physics Syllabus? 

  • Practice as much as you can, especially the ray diagrams in refraction and reflection of light. You must understand the properties of images formed by reflection and refraction. 
  • Make notes in a point-wise format so that you can easily revise all the main points of the chapter without getting confused. 
  • Solve previous year papers of Class 10 Science to understand the types of questions that can be asked. 
  • Take online coaching classes for CBSE Science to understand every topic in-depth. 


#4 What is the syllabus for CBSE Class 10 Science? 

Class 10 Science CBSE syllabus includes 5 units namely, Unit 1: Chemical Substances-Nature and Behaviour, Unit 2: World of Living, Unit 3: Natural Phenomena, Unit 4: Effects of Current and Natural Resources. 


#5 What are the objectives of the CBSE Class 10 Physics syllabus? 

Students are expected to derive equations, formulae and laws of Physics. For example, they need to learn how to drive the formula of the equivalent resistance of resistors in series and parallel combinations. 


#6 How askIITians can help you prepare the CBSE Class 10 Physics syllabus? 

At askIITians you can find premium quality study materials for Class 10 Physics based on the latest CBSE guidelines and exam pattern. These include revision notes, a list of formulae, mindmaps, flashcards, test series, daily practice papers and more! Enrol in our online CBSE coaching for Class 10 Physics and study every concept of light and electric current from our expert CBSE teachers. 


Upto 50% Scholarship on Live Classes

Course Features

  • Video Lectures
  • Revision Notes
  • Previous Year Papers
  • Mind Map
  • Study Planner
  • NCERT Solutions
  • Discussion Forum
  • Test paper with Video Solution