READ THIS BEFORE YOU TAKE ADMISSION IN VIT Hello! If you’re reading this you have most probably decided to take admission in VIT or you are considering it. Well this is meant to help you take a better decision. I am a current student of VIT and am keeping my identity anonymous because I do not think the VIT management would be happy if they get their hands on this particular read. For the impatient ones amongst you, I suggest you DO go through the entire piece, else you might regret it later. So you read the brochure/prospectus and are probably pretty impressed by the college. But the brochure doesn’t tell you everything, nowhere remotely close! The campus is indeed beautiful. There are loads of sports facilities to avail. The library is very resourceful and the hostels quite clean. But that’s pretty much it. Here’s the real deal: Vellore is really a village, with nothing worth mention except VIT and Christian Medical College. There is no life outside the VIT campus. No good movie theatres, no malls, no good showrooms, no coffee shops, no place to sit and chat with friends. And the horrible climate doesn’t help at all. Life is not all that great inside the campus either. The campus is overcrowded with as many students in each branch as there are in all branches combined in most colleges. To accommodate these many people, single bed rooms have been converted to double beds, double by four beds, and four by six. This also means that all you’ll get in your second is a 6-bed room which will have an A.C., if you’re lucky. Something that you won’t find in the brochure is the hostel intime-9 pm. Yes, that means you have to be in your rooms-not just your hostel- by 9. This also means that you won’t be able to avail the facilities in the campus since you’re gonna have classes from 8 am till 7 pm. And if you’re thinking you’ll be able to bend the rules, you’re wrong yet again. You have to give attendance to the warden by fingerprint, failing to do which you will be fined Rs.