Respected sir, I have secured a rank of 2695 in jee2012. with this rank i may not be getting the branch of my choice in the top 5 iits. My BITSAT score is 369 and i beleive i can get CS there easily. AHowever there wont be the brand value. i am confused whether i should chose bits or old iits with a compromised branch with expectation of branch change or other iits with better branch. plz help. PS: Considering the branch change part i beleive i am a good student and just got unlucky on jee day. However i dont have any idea about the hardships that a student has to go through to effect a branch change. Plz guide.

Respected sir,
 I have secured a rank of 2695 in jee2012.
with this rank i may not be getting the branch of my choice in the top 5 iits.
My BITSAT score is 369 and i beleive i can get CS there easily. AHowever there wont be the brand value. i am confused whether i should chose bits or old iits with a compromised branch with expectation of branch change or other iits with better branch. plz help.
PS: Considering the branch change part i beleive i am a good student and just got unlucky on jee day. However i dont have any idea about the hardships that a student has to go through to effect a branch change. Plz guide.

Grade:Upto college level

5 Answers

hxaj xcjj
15 Points
11 years ago

old iit with compromised branch is highly risky-there are many students who go there in that hope which results in dissappointment..
even the jee 2012 topper wouldve got 397 on 401 if students had to mark with a pencil..he realised his mistake during the exam but couldnt change due to pen marking..about 90% of the students say that they had a bad day on jee..so everybody had a bad day..
once you go to iit-various events keep happening thatll keep you distracted from studies..branch change is hard..
bits pilani is a college on par with top 5 iits.. 

Amitosh Anand
16 Points
11 years ago

Thanks for answering.!!!