What are the criteria used in classification of pteridophyte

What are the criteria used in classification of pteridophyte


2 Answers

Vikas TU
14149 Points
4 years ago
Dear student 
There are 4 divisions: 
1. Psilophyta 2. Lycophyta 3. Sphenophyta and 4. Pterophyta
1. Psilophyta:
Psilotum comes under psilophyta. 
2. Lycophyta (Club moss or spike moss)
3.Sphenophyta (Horse tail)
4.Pterophya (Ferns or Filicophyta)
550 Points
3 years ago
pteridophyte is a vascular plant (with xylem and phloem) that disperses spores. Because pteridophytes produce neither flowers nor seeds, they are sometimes referred to as "cryptogams", meaning that their means of reproduction is hidden. Fernshorsetails (often treated as ferns), and lycophytes (clubmossesspikemosses, and quillworts) are all pteridophytes. However, they do not form a monophyletic group because ferns (and horsetails) are more closely related to seed plants than to lycophytes. "Pteridophyta" is thus no longer a widely accepted taxon, but the term pteridophyte remains in common parlance, as do pteridology and pteridologist as a science and its practitioner, respectively. Ferns and lycophytes share a life cycle and are often collectively treated or studied, for example by the International Association of Pteridologists and the Pteridophyte Phylogeny Group.

Think You Can Provide A Better Answer ?


Get your questions answered by the expert for free