Use Coupon: CART20 and get 20% off on all online Study Material

Total Price: Rs.

There are no items in this cart.
Continue Shopping
Grade: 12th Pass
For formation of 50 seed how many minimum meiotic divisions are required?
11 months ago

Answers : (1)

24707 Points

In a meiotic division, we have two phases: Meiosis I and meiosis II. So, we get a total of four haploid cells from one diploid cell.

Hence, for the formation of one seed:

  • Pollen Grain (Microsporogenesis): Four pollen grains are produced as a result of one meiotic division in a pollen sac.
    • 4 pollen grains= 1 meiotic division
    • 1 pollen grain= 1/4 meiotic division
    • 50 pollen grains= 50/4 meiotic divisions
  • Egg (Megasporogenesis): In the megasporangium, only one functional egg cell is produced, because of the degeneration of three others.
    • 1 egg cell= 1 meiotic division
    • 50 egg cells = 50 meiotic divisions

To get the total number of meiotic divisions, we add both the aforementioned values,

Total number of meiotic divisions= 50/4 +50 = 62.5 meiotic divisions.

11 months ago
Think You Can Provide A Better Answer ?
Answer & Earn Cool Goodies

Course Features

  • 731 Video Lectures
  • Revision Notes
  • Previous Year Papers
  • Mind Map
  • Study Planner
  • NCERT Solutions
  • Discussion Forum
  • Test paper with Video Solution

Course Features

  • 728 Video Lectures
  • Revision Notes
  • Test paper with Video Solution
  • Mind Map
  • Study Planner
  • NCERT Solutions
  • Discussion Forum
  • Previous Year Exam Questions

Ask Experts

Have any Question? Ask Experts

Post Question

Answer ‘n’ Earn
Attractive Gift
To Win!!! Click Here for details