Hello sir/ma'am, I am a student of class 10 and I have been having a doubt between mitosis and meiosis can you please explain it.... Lookinf forward for your reply. Thank you!! Kanika Panwar Class 10 student

Hello sir/ma'am,
I am a student of class 10 and I have been having a doubt between mitosis and meiosis can you please explain it....
Lookinf forward for your reply.
Thank you!!
Kanika Panwar
Class 10 student

Grade:10

1 Answers

Arun
25750 Points
5 years ago
Dear Kanika

Mitosis is a process of asexual reproduction in which the cell divides in two producing a replica, with an equal number of chromosomes in each resulting diploid cell.

Meiosis is a type of cellular reproduction in which the number of chromosomes are reduced by half through the separation of homologous chromosomes, producing two haploid cells.

Following are the differences between Mitosis and Meiosis:

S.N.

Differences

Mitosis

Meiosis

1 Type of Reproduction Asexual Sexual
2 Genetically Similar Different
3 Crossing Over No, crossing over cannot occur. Yes, mixing of chromosomes can occur.
4 Number of Divisions One Two
5 Pairing of Homologs No Yes
6 Mother Cells Can be either haploid or diploid Always diploid
7 Number of Daughter Cells produced 2 diploid cells 4 haploid cells
8 Chromosome Number Remains the same. Reduced by half.
9 Chromosomes Pairing Does Not Occur Takes place during zygotene of prophase I and continue upto metaphase I.  
10 Creates Makes everything other than sex cells. Sex cells only: female egg cells or male sperm cells.
11 Takes Place in Somatic Cells Germ Cells
12 Chiasmata Absent Observed during prophase I and metaphase I.
13 Spindle Fibres Disappear completely in telophase. Do not disappear completely in telophase I.
14 Nucleoli Reappear at telophase Do not reappear at telophase I.
15 Steps Prophase, Metaphase, Anaphase, Telophase. (Meiosis 1) Prophase I, Metaphase I, Anaphase I, Telophase I; (Meiosis 2) Prophase II, Metaphase II, Anaphase II and Telophase II.