dear sir/madam, i am a student of class eleventh and as i was studying wave motion i learnt that any electromagnetic wave takes birth by the vibration of mutually perpendiculur electrical and magnetic fields. I was not able to grasp the exact meaning of this statement,so i would be glad if you help me out on this issue by giving me a more descriptive answer. My another question are that light being an electromagnetic wave would take birth the vibration of hte mutualy perpendiculur electrical and magnetic field but still we can produe light when both of them are absent like in candle(as it may appear), this point was also confusing me. wishing for a quick reply. aviral tripathi

dear sir/madam,

i am a student of class eleventh and as i was studying wave motion i learnt that any electromagnetic wave takes birth by the vibration of mutually perpendiculur electrical and magnetic fields.

I was not able to grasp the exact meaning of this statement,so i would be glad if you help me out on this issue by giving me a more descriptive answer.

My another question are that light being an electromagnetic wave would take birth the vibration of hte mutualy perpendiculur electrical and magnetic field but still we can produe light when both of them are absent like in candle(as it may appear), this point was also confusing me.

wishing for a quick reply.

aviral tripathi

Grade:12

2 Answers

Saurabh Kumar
askIITians Faculty 2400 Points
9 years ago