I am a student of narayana hyderabad and i am determined to get into iit i will be writing d xam in 2011 nd my strength is maths and find organic chemistry difficult i solve maths problems according to the options and in a short manner i want to know if this could work in jee as well i have been succesfull with this in my college tests greatly and also that i get around 110-120 marks in my xams /240 will it get me into iit if so wat will be my allover india rank? PLEASE HELP

I am a student of narayana hyderabad and i am determined to get into iit  i will be writing d xam in 2011 nd my strength is maths and find organic chemistry difficult i solve maths problems according to the options and in a short manner i want to know if this could work in jee as well i have been succesfull with this in my college tests greatly and also that i get around 110-120 marks in my xams /240 will it get me into iit if so wat will be my allover india rank? PLEASE HELP

Grade:Upto college level

1 Answers

Badiuddin askIITians.ismu Expert
148 Points
14 years ago

Dear mir noaman

most of the organic chemistry questions comes in form of chemical reactions,

products formed and reaction mechanisms ( some standard mechanisms are included in JEE sylaabus )

For you to understand mechanisms, u have understand and learn some of rules by which reaction undergoes.

As u r following NARAYANA, they explain it very well thr....

If u not satisfied with that, go for books like o.p.tandon, morrison & boyd

P.S: in IIT most of the questions given have anomaly ( deviation from wat the product u expect ), so be careful while attempting.

As u are prepearing for IIT JEE then you should study every concept depply .solving in short manner will not help u everywhere.

in few question it will help only.

if you score 120/240 then your rank will be  2500.

Please feel free to post as many doubts on our discussion forum as you can.